Return to Headlines

2017-18 Educator of the Year finalists named

November 15, 2017


2017 - 2018 Outstanding Educator of the Year Finalist


The 10 finalists in the 2017-18 Outstanding Educator of the Year recognition program have been named.

The Outstanding Educator of the Year finalists are:

  • Jessica Black, a fourth-grade teacher at Bear Creek Elementary School
  • Jessie Boyce, a mathematics teacher at Tyrone Middle School
  • Jennifer Denmon, language arts at Boca Ciega High School
  • Sarah DeTurk, a social studies teacher at East Lake Middle School Academy
  • Jenni Herman, a second-grade teacher at Pinellas Central Elementary School
  • Ann McNicol, a science teacher at Countryside High School
  • Jason Obara, a music teacher at Carwise Middle School
  • Katie Swango, a mathematics teacher at Bay Point Middle School
  • Jeanne Wellings, a gifted teacher at Ridgecrest Elementary School
  • Heather Wiseman, a language arts teacher at East Lake High School

A panel of judges determined the 10 finalists based on multiple criteria. The finalists will undergo an interview process and a second round of scoring by a different panel of judges, who will select the final winner.

The 10 finalists will participate on a float in the annual Snowfest Parade in St. Petersburg on December 2, 2017. All of the nominees and finalists will be honored, and the 2017-18 Outstanding Educator of the Year will be announced, at the annual Evening of Excellence, which is presented by the Pinellas Education Foundation. The evening is  sponsored by Ditek, Humana and the Tampa Bay Rays, and will be held at The Mahaffey Theater in St. Petersburg on Wednesday, January 31, 2018.