Return to Headlines

PCS celebrates Athletes and Coaches of the Year

May 22, 2019


Pinellas County Schools held its 2019 Coach of the Year Awards banquet. Coaching peers for each sport chose a Coach of the Year for each sport. The student female and male Athletes of the Year were honored as well as two student-athletes who overcame major hurdles in their lives to achieve a measure of personal and athletic success. William Al Floyd, a Lakewood High School graduate and former professional football player, was the keynote speaker. Floyd, nicknamed Bar None, won a National Championship with the Florida State University in 1993 and a Super Bowl title with the San Francisco 49ers.  Watch the above video for a recap of the sports banquet.


 View each winner below.



Coaches of the Year:

Boys Golf: Stephen Beck, Largo High

Girls Golf: Todd St. Louis, St. Petersburg High

Football: Ken Crawford, Pinellas Park High

Volleyball: Amy Clark, Largo High

Boys Cross Country:  Steve Wilcox, Northeast High

Girls Cross Country:  Pete Eagleson, Osceola Fundamental High

Boys Swimming: Heather Willis, Lakewood High

Girls Swimming: Lisa Bitting, Palm Harbor University High

Wrestling: Joe Marzo, East Lake High

Boys Basketball:  Anthony Lawrence, Lakewood High

Girls Basketball: Darryl Simmons, Largo High

Boys Soccer: Ian Matthews, Osceola Fundamental High

Girls Soccer: Randy Irick, Palm Harbor University High

Baseball: Zack Roper, East Lake High

Softball: Kristine Delk, East Lake High

Boys Track & Field: Anthony Snead, Lakewood High

Girls Track & Field:  Britt Taylor, East Lake High

Boys Tennis: Matthew Johnson, Largo High

Girls Tennis: Matthew Johnson, Largo High

Flag Football: Christopher Holler, Northeast High

Boys Lacrosse: Andrew Wagner, Clearwater High

Girls Lacrosse: Nicole SirotaPlotnikov, Clearwater High


Henry Deck Award, Female:  Alivia Gonzalez, Palm Harbor University High

Henry Deck Award, Male: Anthony Burburija, Countryside High

Mike McPheron Award: Tyler Kingsbury, Countryside University High

Mike McPheron Award:  Sara Coco, Seminole High


Athletic Administrator of the Year: Katherine Biddle, Clearwater High

SUPERINTENDENT’S GPA AWARD: Palm Harbor University High

SUPERINTENDENT’S CUP/Best All-Around Athletic Program: East Lake High