MEMORANDUM OF UNDERSTANDING

School Board of Pinellas County And Pinellas Classroom Teachers Association

This Agreement dated this <u>7</u>⁻⁻⁻day of June 2021 is between the School Board of Pinellas County, Florida (the "District" or "Board") and the Pinellas Classroom Teachers Association (PCTA).

WHEREAS, on June 2, 2021, Governor DeSantis signed SB 2500, which, among other things, appropriated funds to the Florida Department of Education to provide a nonrecurring bonus in the amount of one thousand dollars (\$1,000) payable to full time classroom teachers, certified prekindergarten teachers and principals; and

WHEREAS, the parties believe that all instructional employees should be included in this benefit and accordingly desire to offer premium pay to full time instructional employees who are excluded from the bonus provided in SB 2500;

NOW THEREFORE, the parties agree to premium pay on the terms and conditions set forth herein.

1. Full time instructional employees covered in the bargaining unit, excluded from the bonus under SB2500, who were employed by the district prior to December 19, 2020 and remained employed with the district until at least April 30, 2021, will be paid one thousand dollars (\$1,000) less applicable taxes. Employees on a leave for the entire 2020-2021 school year do not qualify for this payment.

2. This payment is non-recurring and does not become part of the employee's base salary.

3. Instructional employees who may be eligible for premium pay from other sources will not receive this payment. For example, to the extent that premium pay may be available under state or federal funds for essential workers and such term is interpreted to include instructional employees, the employee will receive only one payment.

4. As part of the annual salary negotiations, the parties will commence and continue discussions regarding any additional non-recurring premium pay that may be available for instructional employees who worked during the COVID -19 pandemic and who return to work for the 2021-2022 school year.

Paula Texel Date Associate Superintendent, HR

clardi 6

Nancy Velardi President, PCTA

Joanne McCall Date Executive Director, PCTA-PESPA