• Pinellas County Health Curriculum Guide


    To develop “health literate” students, this course focuses on the one concept standard and seven skills standards of the Next Generation of Sunshine State Standards (NGSSS) for Health Education. These standards are based on the National Standards for Health Education.

    Health standards are taught through the required topic areas of Health Education. Florida State Statute 1003.42: Students must receive required comprehensive health education in grades K-12 with the following content:

    1. community health
    2. consumer health
    3. family life, including an awareness of the benefits of sexual abstinence as the expected standard and the consequences of teenage pregnancy
    4. environmental health
    5. mental and emotional health
    6. injury prevention and safety
    7. nutrition
    8. personal health
    9. prevention and control of disease
    10. substance use and abuse
    11. internet safety
    12. teen dating abuse and violence (grade 7 and above)

    The emphasis on skills reflects the goal of fostering students who are critical thinkers and problem solvers, responsible productive citizens, self-directed learners, and effective communicators---that is students who are “health literate.”