Return to Headlines

Top 10 finalists for Teacher of the Year named

Nov. 16, 2018


The district named the top 10 finalists this week for 2018-2019 Pinellas County Schools Teacher of the Year. The finalists were notified via surprise classroom visits by district and school administrators and in some cases, their family members.

The 130 nominees were scored by a panel of judges who determined the 10 finalists based on multiple criteria. The finalists will undergo an interview process and the second round of scoring by a different panel of judges, who will select the final winner.

All of the nominees will be honored, and the 2018-19 Teacher of the Year will be announced, at the annual Evening of Excellence, which is presented by the Pinellas Education Foundation. The Evening of Excellence will be held at Mahaffey Theater in St. Petersburg on Monday, Jan. 28, 2019.

The Top 10 Finalists are:
· Andrea Anderson, St. Petersburg High School
· Karen Bulino, Seminole Middle School
· Michelle Hajian, High Point Elementary School
· Lauren Iovino, Boca Ciega High School
· Angela Johnson-Drummond, McMullen Booth Elementary School
· Nicole Kenngott, Plumb Elementary School
· Autumn Lunin, Safety Harbor Middle School
· Emily Maker, North Shore Elementary School
· Candace Reed, Azalea Elementary School
· Wendy Stryker, Safety Harbor Elementary School