Return to Headlines

Palm Harbor University High teacher is state finalist for prestigious national math and science award

July 1, 2019


Becky Bride

Becky Bride of Palm Harbor University High School has been selected as a state-level finalist for the Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST). Bride will serve as one of only three state mathematics finalists for the 2019 Presidential Awards.

She has taught mathematics in the school district for 32 years, was department chair of mathematics at Palm Harbor University High School for 18 years, and is currently teaching in the International Baccalaureate program.

The recognition, Bride said, is one of the highest honors she could have received. "It probably is the pinnacle of my career," she said.

This prestigious award recognizes the outstanding contributions of mathematics and science teachers across the nation. The honor is the highest recognition that a kindergarten through 12th-grade science, technology, engineering, mathematics and/or computer science teacher can receive for outstanding teaching in the United States.

Each finalist's application has been forwarded to a national selection committee of mathematics and science educators. National PAEMST awardees will be notified by the White House, receive $10,000 and be honored at various ceremonies.  

During her career, Bride has taught Pre-Algebra, Algebra 1, Geometry and Geometry Honors, Algebra 2 and Algebra 2 honors, Analysis of Functions, Pre-Calculus, AP Calculus, IB Calculus and Descriptive Statistics, College Algebra and Intermediate Algebra (dual enrollment). She has published books four books with cooperative learning and investigative activities for Pre-Algebra, Algebra 1, Algebra 2 and Geometry.

She has received numerous awards and recognitions, including the Radio Shack National Teacher Award, National Board Certification 2003-2013 and the IEEE Lignell Award 2019. Bride was also a finalist for Pinellas County Schools Oustanding Educator Award in 2003 and 2013.