Return to Headlines

Top 10 finalists for Teacher of the Year named

2019-20 Teacher of the Year - Top 10 Finalists

Nov. 12, 2019

The district named the top 10 finalists this week for 2019-2020 Pinellas County Schools Teacher of the Year. The finalists were notified via surprise classroom visits by district and school administrators and in some cases, their family members.

The 131 nominees were scored by a panel of judges who determined the 10 finalists based on multiple criteria. The finalists will undergo an interview process and the second round of scoring by a different panel of judges, who will select the final winner.

All of the nominees will be honored, and the 2019-2020 Teacher of the Year will be announced, at the annual Evening of Excellence, which is presented by the Pinellas Education Foundation. The Evening of Excellence will be held at Mahaffey Theater in St. Petersburg on Wednesday, Jan. 29, 2020. Help celebrate teachers by attending the Evening of Excellence. Tickets can be purchased here.

The Top 10 Finalists are:

Tina Angles

Tina Angles, Ponce De Leon Elementary School

Susana Carter

Susana Carter, Elisa Nelson Elementary School

Cheri Connolly

Cheri Connolly, Anona Elementary School

Staci DaSilva

Staci DaSilva, Seventy-Fourth St. Elementary School

Deborah Guinn

Deborah Guinn, Osceola Fundamental High School

Tracey Keim

Tracey Keim, St. Petersburg High School   

David Martinez-Cooley

David Martinez-Cooley, Leila Davis Elementary School

Dianna Mills

Dianna Mills, Bay Point Middle School

Natasha Reed

Natasha Reed, Thurgood Marshall Fundamental Middle School      

Ajori Spencer

Ajori Spencer, Madeira Beach Fundamental School