Return to Headlines

High achieving PCS students named National Merit Scholars scholarship winners

May 14, 2020

National Merit Scholars scholarship program Six Pinellas County Schools students are recipients of the 2020 National Merit Scholarship Competition. The elite students are among 2,500 winners nationwide and 15,000 finalists. As a result of the honor, each student will receive a $2,500 scholarship.

The winners were selected by a panel of college admissions officers and high school counselors who examined several factors, including high school grades, the difficulty of classes taken, standardized test scores, involvement and leadership in the school and an essay. Winners from Pinellas County Schools are:


 Bennett A. Carollo, East Lake High

Bennett A. Carollo










Rivers C. Lenholt, St. Petersburg High

Rivers C. Lenholt










Kelsey A. Robinson, East Lake High

Kelsey A. Robinson










Maya Srinivasan, Palm Harbor University High

Maya Srinivasan










Vipin Suren Palm Harbor University High

Vipin Suren










Alexander C. Theophilopoulos, Tarpon Springs High

Alexander Theophilopoulos Tarpon.jpg