Return to Headlines

Twenty-five PCS students named National Merit Scholarship semifinalists

Sept. 9, 2020

Twenty-five Pinellas County Schools students have been named semifinalists in the 66th annual National Merit Scholarship Program, which is conducted by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation.

The 25 students are among approximately 16,000 semifinalists. The students will compete with other semifinalists for prestigious National Merit Scholarships worth about $30 million. The nationwide pool of semifinalists makes up less than one percent of all high school students. The students attained semifinalist’s stature through the scores they attained on the 2019 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT).

The semifinalists and the schools they attend are:

East Lake High

Sofia Deschler, Aidan Hogan, Ashley Wilson

Lakewood High

Mateo Budan, Ryan Smith

Largo High

Bryn Muller, Neil Shah, Nicolas Tave

Osceola Fundamental High

Ella Khaw, Aydan Soto, Alyssa Tallman, Thomas Wynne,

Palm Harbor University High

Anisha Abraham, Theodore Corinis, Miles Gordon, Aabhas Jain, Jennifer Lawrence, Aidan Mackey, Vaarun Ramanathan, Rachel Warren,

St. Petersburg High

Nathaniel Brower, William Ly, Amber Nguyen, Victor Xie

Seminole High

Taylor Murphy