Return to Headlines

Coaches, student-athletes celebrated at banquet

June 1, 2021

The district’s coaches and athletes of the year were honored at the annual Athletics Banquet which was held Thursday at Clearwater High School. Board Member Bill Dudley and Superintendent Michael Grego gave words of congratulations and encouragement to the award winners.

“Coaching is an awesome responsibility that parents give to you to take of their kids,” Dudley said. “Coaches are entrusted with that responsibility.”

Dr. Grego said that athletics are an intricate part of a school district.

“I could not be prouder of you and your efforts,” Dr. Grego said. “Once a coach always a coach and you are  part of that group that has dedicated their lives, no matter how long or short, to growing student-athletes.

Carina Lumia (diving/swimming) of Osceola Fundamental High and Brianna Lloyd (basketball, volleyball and track) of Hollins High were named the Female Athletes of the Year. Dylan Sparkman (wrestler) from Palm Harbor University High was named Male Athlete of the Year.

Kaela Curry of Palm Harbor University High received the Mike McPheron Award for the student-athlete who has overcome the most challenges. Kaela was born with rare brain disorder that caused her to have seizures and muscle weakness that delayed her development and learning. Her life was filled with doctor appointments and limited use of her limbs. Now, Kaela is going to the University of Tampa on a cross country and track scholarship.

“For anyone who may have a disability or setback in life, you may be faced with seemingly impossible obstacles and challenges  you have to overcome, but you will succeed and surpass the odds,” Kaela said. “…No matter how much you want to quit, keep pushing through it and you will find your own greatness.”

Osceola Fundamental High School won the Superintendent’s GPA Award for the athletics program with the highest GPA and Larry Lopez of Palm Harbor University High was given the first ever Nickolas Grasso Leadership Award. Lopez retires at the end of this school year.