Return to Headlines

Pinellas County Schools announces 2022-2023 Teacher of the Year finalists

Nov. 8, 2022


The 10 finalists were notified with surprise visits on Monday and Tuesday. They were selected from a group of 131 nominees who were scored by a panel of judges from the district’s Teaching and Learning Department.  

The finalists will participate in an interview process and another panel of judges will select the Teacher of the Year.

All the nominees will be honored and the 2022-2023 Teacher of the Year will be announced at the annual Evening of Excellence on Jan. 25, 2023, at the Mahaffey Theater.

Congratulations to Pinellas County Schools Top 10 Teacher of the Year finalists:

  • Rebecca Byrne, a first-grade teacher at Azalea Elementary
  • Jerry Cantrell, a science teacher at Seminole High
  • Amber Holmes, a third-grade teacher at Melrose Elementary
  • Dana Ingebresten, a science teacher at Boca Ciega High
  • Rachel Mita, a physical education teacher at Sandy Lane Elementary
  • Jaclyn Reyes, a library media technology specialist at Cypress Woods Elementary
  • Shelli Sorensen, a science teacher at Osceola Middle
  • Nicole Szydlowski, an English language arts teacher at Seminole Middle
  • Courtney Thompson, an ESE teacher at Nina Harris ESE Center
  • Adam Zele, a math teacher at Azalea Middle


Rebecca Byrne - Azalea Elementary

Rebecca Byrne and family


Jerry Cantrell - Seminole High

Jerry Cantrell with Mr. Hendrick.jpg


Amber Holmes - Melrose Elementary

Amber Holmes with Family


Dana Ingebresten - Boca Ciega High

Dana Ingebresten with Mr Hendrick


Rachel Mita - Sandy Lane Elementary

Rachel Mita and students


Jaclyn Reyes - Cypress Woods Elementary

Jaclyn Reyes and staff.jpg


Shelli Sorensen - Osceola Middle

Shelli Sorensen and family


Nicole Szydlowski - Seminole Middle

Nicole Szydlowski with Staff


Courtney Thompson - Nina Harris ESE Center

Courtney Thompson with Family.


Adam Zele - Azalea Middle

Adam Zele and Staff