Return to Headlines

Top 10 Teacher of the Year Finalists Announced

Nov. 10, 2023

Administrators, family, students, executive leadership and Superintendent Hendrick surprised this year’s top-10 finalists for Teacher of the Year this week by visiting their schools and classrooms. The 10 finalists were selected from a group of 132 nominees who were scored by a panel of judges from the district's Teaching and Learning and Professional Development departments.  

The top 10 teachers for the 2023-2024 school year are: Deanna Barthel of Clearwater Fundamental Middle School; Lisa Bitting of Palm Harbor University High School; Sadra Bostick of Ponce de Leon Elementary School; Kristin Campbell of Sandy Lane Elementary School; Karin David of East Lake Middle School; Debbie Georgia-Stein of Gibbs High School; Kristin Jennings of Bay Vista Fundamental Elementary; Gerard Madrinan of Seminole High School; Naomi Middlebrooks of Maximo Elementary School; and Cole Pierce of Tyrone Middle School.

The finalists will participate in an interview process and another panel of judges will select the Teacher of the Year.

All the nominees will be honored and the 2023-2024 Teacher of the Year will be announced at the annual Evening of Excellence on Jan. 22, 2024 at the Mahaffey Theater.

Congratulations to Pinellas County Schools Top 10 Teacher of the Year finalists!