Return to Headlines

District honors athletic coaches, student-athletes of the year

May 23, 2024

Palm Harbor High School with Superintendent's CupDuring the PCAC Annual Coaches of the Year and Athletics Banquet, Superintendent Kevin Hendrick, Athletic Director Marc Allison and outgoing Athletic Director Al Bennett honored 25 coaches of the year along with three student athletes on Wednesday, May 22, at Feather Sound Country Club.

In addition, the Nickolas Grasso Leadership Award went to Michelle Copello of Osceola Fundamental High School and the Scott Anderson Athletic Trainer of the Year Award was presented to Mickey Rice, head trainer at Northeast High.

The Henry Deck Awards, which recognize the most outstanding male and female athletes, went to track champions Rachael Uvieghara of Palm Harbor University High and Eli Zuppa of Northeast High. Rachael is currently ranked seventh nationally with three state championships in the 100- and 200-meter races. She will continue her track and academic career at the University of Southern California. Eli has won multiple District and PCAC championships in both cross country and track and field. He is a two-time state finalist and holds the school record for the 5K. He has 25 top-10 finishes for the boy’s mile. Eli will be attending Florida Southern College in the fall.

Braeden Callahan, a baseball player at Countryside High School, was awarded the Mike McPheron "spirit" award for exemplifying resilience and perseverance both on and off the field. 

Rachael Uvieghara

The Superintendent’s GPA Award and the Superintendent’s Cup Award, given to the best overall athletics program, went to Palm Harbor University High School.

Tom Carter III, who played nine seasons at cornerback for Washington, Chicago and Cincinnati as well as being a three-year starter at Notre Dame and a proud Lakewood High School alum, was the keynote speaker.

Al Bennett, who spent 37 years with Pinellas County Schools and was the district athletic director for seven, was also presented an award and given a standing ovation.

2024 Coaches of the Year

Football - Jeremy Frioud, Tarpon Springs

Volleyball - Chad Mowrey, Seminole

Boys Golf - James Hill, Osceola

Girls Golf - Hollie Miller, Pinellas Park

Boys Cross Country - Jonathan Trunk, St Petersburg

Girls Cross Country - Maria Morrison, Dunedin

Boys Swimming  - Timothy McCann, Palm Harbor

Girls Swimming - Jason Grant, St Petersburg

Boys Bowling - William White, Northeast

Girls Bowling - Shane Demartino, Pinellas Park

Boys Soccer - Thurston Johnson, Palm Harbor

Girls Soccer - John Despota, East Lake

Boys Wrestling - Matthew Avramidis, Palm Harbor

Girls Wrestling - Andrew Jefferies, Countryside

Boys Basketball - Larry Murphy, Gibbs

Girls Basketball - Necole Tunsil, Lakewood

Baseball - Johnny Lancaster, Northeast

Softball - Reggie Randolph, Northeast

Boys Track & Field - Leviticus McKinnon, Largo

Girls Track & Field - Pete Eagleson, Osceola

Boys Tennis - Alberto Lense, Osceola

Girls Tennis - Joseph Bloznalis, East Lake

Flag Football - Bonnie Thompson, St Petersburg

Boys Lacrosse - Dylan Lowdermilk, Countryside

Girls Lacrosse - Greg Pozun, Palm Harbor