Renewal Requirements

  •  

    FLDOE:  Rule 6A-4.0051  Renewal and Reinstatement of a Professional Certificate

    Renewal Requirements

    • NEW-An educator whose application for renewal of a certificate with a beginning validity date of July 1, 2020, or thereafter, must have earned at least two (2) college credits, or forty (40) inservice points in the use of explicit, systematic reading instruction, developing phonemic awareness, and implementing multi sensory intervention strategies IF the educator is any of the following coverages:
      • Elementary Education (K-6)
      • Prekindergarten/Primary Education (Age 3-Grade3)
      • Elementary Education (1-6)
      • Primary Education (K-3)
      • English (1-6)
      • Middle Grades English (5-9)
      • Middle Grades Integrated Curriculum (5-9)
      • Reading (K-12)
      • Reading Endorsement
      • ESOL (K-12)
    • A total of 120 component points are required to renew a certificate. Six semester hours of college credit (two college courses of three credits) or the equivalent must be earned during each renewal period. Sixty inservice points are equivalent to three semester hours of college credit.
    • 20 of the 120 component points must be in Exceptional Student Education/Students with Disabilities (ESE/SWD). The requirement does not add to the total hours required by the Department of Education for continuing education or inservice training.
    • A passing score on the Florida subject area test specific to the coverage to be renewed is equivalent to three semester hours of college credit for renewal purposes.
    • A valid certificate issued by the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards (NBPTS) will renew the Florida certificate only in the subject shown on the national certificate for as long as the national certificate remains valid.
    • Teaching a college course at an acceptable institution may be accepted as credit earned for that course.

     

    Teachers may view and print a list of completed trainings by accessing the Professional Learning Network (PLN). Contact the ProEd facilitator at your school site or Natalie Geldern, Professional Development, at geldernn@pcsb.orgThis e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it for information concerning component points.

     

    Renewal Application Procedure

    The FLDOE has created a Educator Certification website.  All teachers with state issued certificates need to follow the instructions to create a new account at this website:

    https://flcertify.fldoe.org/datamart/mainMenu.do

    All applications need to be submitted to the FLDOE to be processed.  The FLDOE notifies the district of an open application to be processed.  Once the requirements for renewal have been approved by the Professional Development Department, the Certification team will complete the submission of the application back to the FLDOE.

    For current instructional staff the Instructional Certification team will approve a payroll deduction of $75.00. 

    For charter school instructional staff, payment of $75.00 (check or money order)  must be submitted to the mailing address listed below. 

    Retired or terminated employees, must select District Affiliation 100 and submit payment of $75.00 (check or money order) to the mailing address below. 

     Here is a video of the actual renewal process using inservice points to assist you.

     

    Late Renewal

    Late renewal of a professional only applies to teachers whose professional certifcate has expired for no more than one year.  All renewal credits must have been earned during the certificate's validity period to be eligible for late renewal.  An application with a late fee must be submitted to the FLDOE.  Contact the district in which inservice points were earned to be submitted to the state.

     

    Reinstatement Requirements

    Reinstatement of a professional certificate pertains to teachers whose professional certificate has expired beyond 12 months. To reinstate a professional certificate, a teacher needs:

    • an application for reinstatement submitted to the FLDOE
    • a passing score on the subject area examination for each area to be reinstated from the expired certification
    • completion of six semester hours of college credit during the five years immediately proceeding the date of the reinstatment application OR
    • completion of 120 inservice points which must include one college credit or the equivlent of 20 inservice points in Students With Disabilities-contact district to submit to the FLDOE inservice points earned.

     

    Additional questions may be directed to the FLDOE at 1-800-445-6739.  If you require technical online support, email Technical Assistance.  

    Other questions can be directed to the HR Certification Department at 588-6000, extension 6576/6275 or email at certification@pcsb.org.

    PCS Mailing Address

    Pinellas County School Administration Building

    Human Resources, Certification

    301 Fourth Street SW

    Largo, Florida  33770-3536