Outstanding School Volunteers

  • Exciting opportunities for Pinellas County students, parents and teachers are happening every day, thanks to the efforts of families and community members. Volunteers and community partners are making a difference by helping students develop the skills, knowledge and attitudes that are the hallmark of a quality education. We celebrate and honor our wonderful volunteers each year.

    The top volunteers for 2023 were celebrated on Wednesday, March 29, at the district's annual Outstanding School Volunteer breakfast at Feather Sound Country Club. To date this year, there are approximately 30,000 volunteers who have donated nearly 400,000 hours of volunteer service to promote student success and academic achievement in the district.

    The event included musical entertainment by PCS students from the Ruth Eckerd Hall CJH jazz combo as well as a few words of congratulations from Superintendent Kevin Hendrick and School Board member Carol Cook. Gary Regoli, president and CEO, spoke on behalf of Achieva Credit Union, the event’s title sponsor. The district’s volunteer program is managed by the Office of Strategic Partnerships.

    The District Winners are:

    Youth- Alexandra Miller, Forest Lakes Elementary
    Adult- Brenda George, Osceola Fundamental High School
    Senior- Peter Yelton, Northeast High School

    District Winners

    The winners from each area:

    Area 1
    Youth: Alexandra Miller – Forest Lakes Elementary School
    Adult: Natalie Putnam – Elisa Nelson Elementary School
    Senior: Rita Smekal – Brooker Creek Elementary School

    Area 2
    Youth: Lucas William Burke – Osceola Fundamental High School
    Adult: Brenda George – Osceola Fundamental High School
    Senior: Debra Lantz – Frontier Elementary School

    Area 3
    Youth: Ella Flye – Orange Grove Elementary School
    Adult: Lauren Esposito – Pasadena Fundamental Elementary School
    Senior: Nancy Rose – Starkey Elementary School

    Area 4
    Youth: Hannah Bleattler – Nina Harris ESE Center
    Adult: Jill Piazza Faver – Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings Elementary School
    Senior: Peter Yelton – Northeast High School

    Transformation Zone
    Youth: Lejla Dzebo  – John M. Sexton Elementary School
    Adult: Asianna Lotito – Mt. Vernon Elementary School
    Senior: Linda Frank – Lealman Avenue Elementary School


    Pinellas County Schools
    Office of Strategic Partnerships
    301 4th St. SW, Largo, FL 33770